Otherworldly: Optical Delusions and Small Realities

Earlier this summer I was so excited to check out this exhibition at the Museum of Arts and Design, but (as is often the case), work (and play) got busy and I never found the time. I thought I’d miss it while back teaching in California over the summer, but I was delighted to see that it’s open for just a few days after I get back to New York!

In addition to dealing with questions of vision and scale (which interest me a lot), the exhibit includes a stroboscope: Mat Collishaw’s Garden of Unearthly Delights (2009), which I am very excited about. Here’s a video of the piece in action:


I’m particularly glad to catch this piece, as I missed the installation of his massive stroboscopic work at the V & A last winter/fall. Here’s a  video showing its development: it looks amazing!

Read more about Mat Collishaw and his work on his site.

Otherworldly: Optical Delusions and Small Realities

Leave a Reply

